Tags

, ,

I’ve always loved yakitori chicken, but ever since my first visit to Japan last September I’ve become obsessed! After a bit of googling and a few tweaks here and there, here is my rendition of one of my favourite Japanese dishes…

I like to stir-fry this on the hot plate of the barbecue — I’m too lazy to thread the chicken and the onion onto bamboo skewers, so I just throw it all on together.

Ingredients:

1 tsp sesame oil

2 cloves garlic, smashed

1 tsp ground ginger

1/3 cup soy sauce

1/3 cup mirin

1/3 cup sake

2 tsp cornflour

400gm  free-range chicken thighs

2 onions

–Put all the ingredients in a pan, except the chicken, onion and cornflower.

–Bring to the boil, then simmer for 5 minutes (stir occasionally).

–Add the cornflower, whisk to avoid clumping.

–Take mixture off the heat and allow to cool a little. Cut the chicken and the onion into bite-size pieces (keep the two separate).

–Stir half of the marinade mix into the chicken pieces. Stir a tablespoon of the mix into the onions.

–Barbecue the chicken and onions on medium heat for 10 minutes, or until cooked through. I like to flip the chicken a couple of times on the grill, to give an extra smoky flavour.

–In the final minute, add the remaining marinade mixture from the pan to coat.

–Done! This tastes pretty good cold too, so I never mind if I make too much!

Itadakimasu! 🙂

