Tags

, ,

If there is one substance that I am truly addicted to, it’s tea. I crave it, I can’t live without it, and every morning when I get my hit of Earl Grey I feel a euphoria that sometimes makes me wonder if bergamot is the only additive in my brew (to be clear, it IS!) The simple pleasure I get upon that first sip I wouldn’t trade for all the coffee and wine in the world…

McIver’s tea and coffee shop has traded at the Queen Victoria Market since 1951. Not only does it have the BEST tea in town, but it is very affordable. A 200g packet of Earl Grey at McIver’s is a steal at $5, which is less than a quarter of the price of another certain well-known tea shop in Melbourne…

There are over 50 varieties of tea on offer at McIver’s, and 20 varieties of coffee. I can’t get past their Earl Grey, though I have also enjoyed their English Breakfast and Queen Mary blends — the latter was recommended to me when I was looking for a black tea to make iced during the summer. If you’re not in Melbourne, you can buy online here.

Another thing I love about McIver’s, along with the lovely ladies and lads that work there, is their support of environment conservation and in particular, Orangutan conservation. They do this by charging for plastic bags, which are not plastic at all, but rather 100% biodegradable bags made from cornflour! The 20 cents they collect when you pay for a bag goes to the Orangutan foundation, which works to conserve the Indonesian rainforest where Orangutans live.

Kudos, McIver’s, I love you!

